Sunday, December 30, 2012

Beaver Creek Tavern, Downingtown, PA


We were visiting our daughter and son-in-law's new place in Downingtown on a Friday night during the holidays and decided to try someplace nearby for dinner. We've hit most of the places in the Downingtown area and wanted someplace different. Nicole suggested The Beaver Creek Tavern and for some reason the name rang a bell, as if someone had recommended it once. 

We got there and the place was hopping. Most of the tables were full and the ones that weren't had reservation tent cards on them. The owner knotted his brow, gave a warm smile and said, "I have a table for you." He took a reservation card from a five top and said that was our table, and that he'd rearrange the reservation. I kept an eye out through dinner and didn't notice anyone displaced, so he must have known what he was doing.

The restaurant looks old fashioned, clean and bright in a timeless style with pastoral wall paintings and plenty of wood. As I looked through the menu there were plenty of comfort foods listed, like chicken pot pie (that's what Teresa ordered) and meat loaf (what Brian ordered) as well as sandwiches, burgers and steaks. There was one thing on the menu that was simply screaming 'Try Me!' It was the eggs benedict burger. I was really tempted, but I was on the backside of the flue and my appetite wasn't all that strong yet so I went with the bacon cheddar burger (shown above).

The burger was really good. Quality meat, cooked right, on a fresh roll with just the right amount of juices flowing from it. The fries were nothing special though, I think I'll go for the onion rings the next time. Everyone else was quite happy with their choices as well. 

Overall, nice homey atmosphere, warm friendly service, good comfort food at reasonable prices. We'll be back again soon, I want the eggs benedict burger. Stop by and give them a try.

Update- I did get that Benedict Burger and it was amazing.


Saturday, December 8, 2012

Cosimo's Brick Oven, Middletown, NY


Cosimo's Brick Oven in Middletown has been around since 1995. That's seventeen in human years, and close to a hundred in restaurant years where the life expectancy of a restaurant is less than five years (seventy percent of new restaurants close within the first five years). I've only been there a few times, but I was satisfied each time. 

We stopped by today after nearly walking into an Olive Garden. You see, I was in the mood to try someplace we hadn't been to in a while and Olive Garden seemed worth a visit. As we were about to enter we both had the same thought, that we were going to regret it. We got back in the car and went down the road to Cosimo's.  

I decided on the tapenade flatbread pizza shown above at $13.00. It had shrimp, olive tapenade, cherry tomatoes, plenty of cheese and zucchini. It was quite tasty with a crispy crust and just the right flavor notes. Everything had a fresh, clean taste, especially the shrimp which made me think they were fresh not frozen.

Teresa got the half Margherita pizza and Caesar salad for $9.00. She said the pizza was okay and the salad looked to be of good size. 

We tried an old favorite and we were not disappointed. What I found interesting was that there was a line inside of the Olive Garden waiting for a table while Cosimo's was not all that busy at two in the afternoon. This simply proves that mediocrity sells if the name is familiar. Cosimo's is a small chain (four restaurants of that name and Torches on the Hudson) but it is locally owned and managed. 


Saturday, November 24, 2012

Restaurant North, Armonk, NY

Mussels on Flatbread
Restaurant North in Armonk owners Eric Gabrynowicz and Stephen Mancini believe in using local suppliers to create a true farm to table dining experience that should please the most die hard localvore. One of their suppliers is Sycamore Farms in Montgomery, owned by the Smith family, employers of my son Mark. Restaurant North has been on my short list of places to go for some time now, so when Mark gave us a gift card to go there that list got even shorter, it was simply a matter of finding the right time to go.

We made a five o'clock reservation on a Saturday, they open at five, because it was a bit over an hour's drive so we figured we'd eat, then do some shopping on the way home. As we entered I took a look and my first impression was of a refreshing understated simplicity in design. It looked like a restaurant that was saying, "Hey, we're nice, we can be trendy, but just wait until you try our food." It is what I call 'Up-County,' something you would have  found in Northern Westchester, Fairfield and Putnam Counties years ago. It has that Town and Country feel to it, city standards, or better, in a country setting. Well, country depends on where you're from. This part of Westchester hasn't really been country since Roosevelt was in office.

We were greeted and seated, given menus, water and offered bread. We had the place to ourselves for close to a half an hour. By the time we left at six-thirty (they do not rush you there as they believe in a relaxed and pleasant dining experience) the room was nearly full. Even though it was crowded near the end, the noise level wasn't bad. 


Steelhead Salmon
The menu is not huge, it is printed on a single page as it changes  daily depending on what is available. The size wasn't a problem, the problem was there were far too many excellent choices. We ordered appetizers to stall for time while we made our dinner choices. Teresa ordered the potato gnocchi over chicken Bolognese that was quite good (sorry, no picture) and I ordered the Mussels on Flatbread shown above which were amazing. The mussels were cooked in wine and lemon juice with garlic and spread over a grilled flatbread. It was quite savory, and quite delectable.  

I was down to the Steelhead Trout and the Seared Scallops for dinner. Our waitress suggested the salmon and she was right. It came exactly as I ordered it, just a shade less than medium, on a bed of quinoa, eggplant and broccolette (I think so anyway as the taste seemed to be a cross between Brussels sprouts and broccoli). The outside of the fish was crispy and the inside was a lovely reddish/pink. It was perfectly cooked and the flavor balanced with the rest of the dish.


Poached Cod
Teresa got the Poached Cod on a bed of lentils and beets. I took a taste and it was delightful. It was a simple dish with subtle flavor hints coming through, like the sea salt and horseradish.


French Toast Bread Pudding
As I looked over the dessert menu I took note of the French Toast Bread Pudding. I made one of those a couple of weeks ago to get rid of an excess of leftover French Toast when I was cooking on a retreat weekend and it was pretty good. I decided to order it so I could see whose was better, mine or the restaurant's. When it came I realized that it was far better than mine was, but then they did set out to make the dish, I was just trying to re-use some leftovers. Teresa ordered a pear tart and Chef Eric sent us out a cookie as well. We had a bit of sugar overload after that.


Chocolate Chip Cookie
The bottom line?

Decor- Simple, yet sophisticated with a hint of modern balanced with that Up-County feel.
Service- Impeccable.
Food- Amazing. Every dish was perfect.
Prices- Moderate to high, depending on what you are used to. Appetizer, entree and desert come to about $60.00 per person. 
Verdict- Must go!



Cheeseburger in Paradise, Middletown, NY


We haven't been to a Cheeseburger in Paradise in years. Come to think of it, I've only been to two of their restaurants, once in Canton, Ohio and a dozen or so times to the one in Middletown, NY. Each visit was consistently good, not amazing, but good. 

The motif is an interesting island setting, but the Middletown location seems to be a bit long in the tooth. It looked a bit stale. The servers used to wear Hawaiian shirts, but now the dress code appears to be whatever shorts and t-shirt was clean that morning. They did do a good job though.

Okay, it is a chain restaurant, but it is one of the better ones. I got the Buffalo burger (not buffalo meat, just a bit of heat from buffalo sauce and jalapeƱos) with fries. Teresa got the guacamole burger with fries. Both were good, but my roll was not as fresh as I would have liked it. 

Our orders came to under twenty bucks, tax included. That's about what we'd have spent at Five Guys and also about what we would have spent at a locally owned place. The quality was somewhere in between the two



Friday, October 19, 2012

My Five Favorite Restaurants

Instead of doing a 'Best of 2012' list this year I decided to do a list of my top five restaurants. The criteria was simple, I had to have eaten at the restaurant at least four times and each time it had to have been excellent. All five have excellent food at reasonable prices and good service. The atmosphere varies from  European to Mediterranean to rustic to kitschy. 

There are four bistro/cafe type restaurants and one Burrito place. Please note that at only one do I favor a burger. 

I wrote a separate article on each restaurant and the links are below. They are listed at random as I love them all equally. Try any one of them and you will be satisfied. 

Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
Beacon Falls Cafe, Beacon, NY
Greek Cafe, Middletown, NY
Nu-Cavu, Wallkill, NY

My Five Favorite Restaurants. The Greek Cafe, Middletown, NY

My friend Paula introduced us to The Greek Cafe and it has since become one of our favorite restaurants. The food is consistently good, as is the service. It is bright and decorated with pictures of the Greek Isles. 

Seafood
While I do like the gyros, they do make some really good seafood, and some delightful lemon potatoes.

Lemon Potatoes
They make their own Gyro meat and it tastes fresh and delicious. You can get a traditional Gyro, but I like to get the Gyro platter which comes with a huge pile of meat on a bed of god fries with greek salad on the side. 

Gyro Platter
While I don't usually get desert, I have sampled them all. What we do now is have our meal and take home a pastry for later. The Baklava is amazing.


If you haven't been there yet, make it a point to pay them a visit. You won't be disappointed. 


My Five Favorite Restaurants. Flaming Amy's Burrito Barn, Wilmington, NC

There is nothing fancy about Flaming Amy's Burrito Barn in Wilmington. It is a simple place with tattooed employees, plenty of kitschy stuff on the walls and the best burritos I've ever eaten. Their motto is Hot, fast, cheap and easy and they deliver on all counts.


When I go, and I make sure to go at least once every time I'm in town, I have a bit of trouble deciding what I want. You see I love the Po' Boy and the Greek burritos equally. My wife and daughter love the Thai Me Up and my grandchildren love the tacos, especially when it is dollar tacos on Tuesdays. They also have the most amazing selection of salsas, all make fresh on the premises, which complement the fresh nachos. 


They have another place, Flaming Amy's Bowl, which is a flattop Mongolian grill, also amazing.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

My Five Favorite Restaurants. Beacon Falls Cafe

We discovered The Beacon Falls Cafe close to two years ago and it has become a favorite 'go to' place. With close to a dozen visits under our belts I can honestly state that the food and service are consistently excellent.

Cockles
While my favorites are the burgers, the one below was the one I named the Best of 2012, I have ventured into other parts of the menu. The Cockles were delightful, the shrimp scampi full of butter and garlic, yet not overpowering, the fried duck wings amazing and the Rhode Island Calamari wonderful. 

Bob's Blazing Burger

The restaurant is a cute little place (seating less than fifty?) and is well appointed featuring the work of local artists and photographers. The owners, Bob and Linda Nevelus, know what they're doing and they have a well-trained staff. 

Beacon Falls Burger
Bob is a retired police officer who, while protecting and serving, learned to cook and serve at the CIA. He has classical training, yet is not afraid to try different, and wonderful, things. He also has very good taste in beer and has an extensive craft beer list with daily specials.  

Shrimp Scampi
We've brought friends to BFC and they raved about it. We've recommended BFC to other friends and they also rave about it. 


Rhode Island Calamari

Monday, October 15, 2012

My Favorite Restaurants. Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC

One place that has to be on my top five is the Caprice Bistro in Wilmington. I looked at the menu on July 14th, 2011 (Bastille Day) after having eaten elsewhere and it was one of those, "Wow I coulda had a . . ." moment. The following week we were back and it has become a favorite.

Inside it is small, warm, romantic and friendly. On a visit during a heavy rainstorm we were seated near the window and looking out I could have sworn I was in Paris or Montreal. 

Duck Confit
Caprice Bistro is a Belgian restaurant patterned after the one the owners had in Greenwich Village, NY. They feature French classics with a Belgian twist, One of the best dishes there is the Duck Confit, shown above. It is moist and delicious. 

Pork Loin
The pork loin is tender, moist and delicious too. 

Petit Gris Escargots
The snails in roquefort are absolutely amazing. After I finish the escargot I love to mop up the sauce with the fresh bread. This could very easily be a part of my death row meal.

Mussels
Love the Mussels. The picture above is an appetizer size order, we had this with a cheese plate, but my absolute favorite are the mussels Bruxelles. Made with bacon, cream, wheat beer and probably close to two pounds of fresh mussels this is an amazing dish. Add the frites and you are in Heaven.


And the deserts are delightful, if you can save room. I can't wait until I get back there in April. 

Floating Islands Desert



My five favorite restaurants. Nu-Cavu in Wallkill, NY

I thought that instead of doing a "Best of" list this year (yes, I did post my Best Burger of 2012) that I'd do a feature on my top five restaurants. I list them in no particular order and I'll start with a perennial favorite since 2008, The Nu-Cavu in Wallkill, NY.

Veal Vavu
One of my reasons for liking this place so much is the consistency in food and service. I've never had a bad meal, and I was always treated like a king. We've tried most everything there and while they do make a mean burger, my favorites is the Pescatore, a seafood dish over pasta. 

I do try the specials and my most recent was the Veal Cavu (top photo), a remix of their Chicken Cavu. Veal, eggplant and roasted peppers with mozzarella and sauce served with pasta or potatoes. 
Eggplant Parmesan
Teresa is a huge fan of their eggplant Parmesan and I agree with her that it is one of the best anywhere. 
Salad with Blue Cheese
Even the salads are good, and they give you fresh bread with an olive tapanade. Stop by and have a nice meal sometime. Tell them I sent you.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Best Burger of 2012

That exciting time to announce the winners of Burgers and Brews Food Reviews Best of list is once again upon us. I will start with the most coveted prize, that of Best Burger.


Best Burger-The winner of the best burger of 2012 is Bob's Blazing Blue Cheese Burger from the Beacon Falls Cafe. This thirteen dollar beauty is a half-pound of quality beef, bacon, ample blue cheese, hot peppers, tomato and lettuce. The beef is cooked to perfection, exactly as you order it. The hot cherry peppers make your mouth water, while the blue cheese tempers some of the heat. Oh, and the fries are really good.

I've eaten at least four of these and they were all consistently magnificent. This is a two-handed, three napkin burger and I'd pair it with a nice IPA, like a Hurricane Kitty.

Saturday, September 29, 2012

Beers with Widgets




The beers in the gallery above have a few things in common. 

First, they are all from the same region, England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Yeah, I know that some people don't want Ireland and England in the same sentence but I have ancestors from Ireland, Scotland and England. The English connection goes back to Sir William Forman, Lord High Mayor of London in 1538, knighted by Henry VIII. At least that's what I choose to believe, it may be a whole different Forman (Foreman) line. The Irish and Scottish connection gets a bit blurred and I'm not sure which country they got kicked out of first, but I'm pretty sure some of my ancestors oppressed other of my ancestors. 

Next, they are all on my patio table waiting to be sampled (over the course of a few days, otherwise writing this article would be difficult at best) so that I might share these pearls of wisdom with you. Oh the work I go through for the sake of art and truth.

And most important, they are all in draught cans which produce a taste close to a real draft. What produces this is a neat thing called a beer widget and some extra nitrogen. You see, beers from the UK and Ireland have considerably less carbonation than American beers. That's what this little story is about, and my opinions on the beers of course.

British, Irish, Scottish and Welsh beer is not as heavily carbonated as American Beer and most of the head comes from air introduced when the beer is 'pulled' from the cask to the tap. This works fine, but the problem is that when these beers are bottled or canned there is no head when poured. The good people at Guinness solved that by creating the widget.

The Beer Widget-

The widget is a plastic, nitrogen-filled, sphere with a tiny hole in it that is added before the can is sealed. It floats in the beer, with the hole just slightly below the surface of the beer. When you open the can, the pressure inside drops and the compressed gas inside the sphere is quickly forced out through the tiny hole into the beer. This increases the amount of foam, or head on the beer. 

The end result is that when you pour the beer into a glass you get that wonderful head so unlike the head on American beer. This head does not overflow the glass but rather cascades delightfully into the glass leaving a small foamy head on top of the beer. The beer remains unfettered with all of the unneeded gases and has a smooth taste.

Another method used, and a couple of the beers above use this, is a false bottom in the can filled with nitrogen. 

My opinions and commentary follow. 

Murphy's Stout- This is a low alcohol (4%) Irish cream stout from Cork, Ireland and I like this better than Guinness as it has more flavor. The can tastes very close to my memories of this stout in Ireland where most pubs have a Guinness tap and a Murphy's tap sitting side by side. 

Young's Double Chocolate Stout- I like this one better than Murphy's, but the comparison isn't totally valid as the style is a bit different. Brewed by Wells and Young in The United Kingdom it is a milk stout with 5% alcohol. It has a nice sweet bite to the taste coming from the chocolate malt. Probably one of my favorite stouts.

Bellhaven Scottish Ale- Brewed in Dunbar, Scotland since 1719, this is one of my favorite ales. The ABV is 5.2%. I first had this on the overnight train to Edinburgh and had a few more while I was in the city.  

Boddington's Pub Ale- Brewed in Manchester, England, the ABV is 4.7%. It starts out creamy when poured and has a nice simple taste.

Old Speckled Hen- This beer was originated in Abington, Oxfordshire in 1979 to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the MG plant. Old Speckled Hen was the nickname of a service car at the factory covered in paint splotches. It is a bitter with a 5.2% ABV and has a very nice taste. 

Wexford Irish Ale- Brewed in Bury St. Edmunds, England, this ale weighs in at 5% and has a nice creamy look when poured. The taste is a bit lacking and is a bit closer to a lager. Not bad, but nothing amazing.

Tetley's Smooth Flow- This is an English Bitter with only 3.6% alcohol. My first experience with this was at a bar in Mold, Wales. This is a very good bitter. The term does not mean not bitter in taste, but rather not sweet. Bitter is another term for pale ale.

John Smith's Smooth Ale- Dating back to 1778 in Tadcaster in North Yorkshire, England, this smooth ale is the biggest sponsor of horse racing in the UK. The Smooth Ale is actually a smooth (hence the name), mild (3.6%), creamy English pale ale. I like it better than a Bass.

But the grandaddy of widget beers is Guinness, after all, they invented it. 

Started in 1759 in Dublin, Ireland, Guinness has become symbolic of Ireland. At 4.3% it is a lighter beer and lower in calories (only 125 calories for a twelve once serving). They even tout health benefits by saying, "Guinness is good for you." I run this past my wife when she starts to complain that I've had too many beers.

I discovered Guinness nearly forty years ago when it was in six ounce bottles in the local ShopRite. I've had it on and off since then, mostly when I go to an Irish place, but occasionally at home. I enjoyed a few pints in England and Ireland and the best pint I ever had was at the source when I toured the plant at Saint James Gate in Dublin. Even though there are others that I like better, I'll fall back on a Guinness often, mainly due to availability. You can get it almost anywhere.

The list is not all-inclusive, there are probably more widget beers out there that I have not yet seen. Any beer above is better than the standard mass-produced American swill and some come close to craft micro-brews. The main thing though is the non-gassy feeling after a beer or two. Try a few and see what I mean.

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Frank's Italian Restaurant, Wappingers Falls, NY

Eggplant Spinacelli
We've passed his restaurant for years, always thinking about stopping but never doing so. One of the main reasons is that it sits just before a light on Rt 9 and it kind of sneaks up on you when you're going south. I usually remember it as I pass, when it is too late, or when I'm headed north and I can't make a left to get in. The parking lot is a bit tricky to get into, and out of, but there is plenty of parking in the rear. 

Anyway, we went in and it is bright and pleasant inside with stone floors, brick walls, granite table tops and plenty of natural light. We were seated in the front overlooking route 9 by the window which was perfect for the food photography. Kayleigh was our server and she was helpful, friendly and enthusiastic. We looked through the menus and made our choices.

Salad with gorgonzola
Teresa ordered the Eggplant Spinacelli shown at top for $15.50. It was an eggplant and spinach dish with a really nice sauce. She said it was probably one of her top eggplant plates she's had, and almost as good as our neighbor's eggplant. I tasted and I agreed with her. (I polished off half of the leftovers that night and it was truly good with plenty of garlic)

Both of our dishes came with choice of soup or salad and we both opted for the salad. I added gorgonzola for an extra two bucks, well worth it considering the amount they gave me. Both dishes also came with a side of pasta and you can choose whether to use the same sauce as your main course, or use a different one.
Veal Saltimbocca
I ordered the Veal Saltimbocca at $19.50, my 'go to' dish when I try a new place. I do this as a basis of comparison, but that doesn't always work out since there are so many interpretations of it. Here they did it well with plenty of veal and used a marsala sauce which worked well. The only complaint is that they put far too much sauce on it and it was more soup than sauce. I solved that problem by putting the meat on the bread plate before cutting and drained off some of the sauce. Don't get me wrong, my meal was good, but Teresa's was so much better.

Next time, and there will be a few next times, I'll get one of the other veal dishes with a red sauce as that is what I think they do best.

Overall, nice ambiance, excellent service and very good food at fair prices. Stop by sometime and see what I mean.


Monday, September 17, 2012

Kibberia Middle Easter Restaurant and Cafe, Danbury, CT

We were headed to Danbury for some shopping and I decided to do a bit of research before going to find someplace different to eat. I wanted Middle Eastern, there is a large community of Middle Eastern people in the area, and I came across Kibberia so we decided to give it a try. I am glad we did.

The restaurant is in a mall, the same one with The Panda House, and what you do is order at the counter, pay, and take a table. They bring the food to you. We were looking at the menu and there were too many things to choose from. Teresa decided on the Lentil and Cabbage Salad, shown above, for $6.99. It reminded me of a Middle easter taco salad, minus the meat. It was quite flavorful and fresh tasting. The portion was so big some of it came home with us. 
I ordered the Kafta Pocket Combo shown above. Kafta is a slightly spicy beef and lamb patty and it was served in a pita with lettuce, tomato and a nice sauce. It came with a side of tabouleh, hummus and a small pita for $8.79. It was very good, very filling and very fresh tasting.

Overall, excellent food at good prices. Friendly people and a nice ambiance. We'll definitely be heading back for more. Oh, it is  very friendly for all of my vegetarian friends. 

Friday, September 14, 2012

Tony Boffa's, Middletown, NY

Tony Boffa's Restaurant in Middletown is a place we haven't been to in years, and a place we kept saying we needed to go to again for years. Going back made me remember why I used to like it, and made me realize I should go there more often.

They've been around for over 60 years now it still has the same feel it always had. This is an old school Italian joint in Middletown, probably the last of its kind. It isn't fancy inside or out but it is clean and bright, if not a bit shop worn. No, a better term would be lived-in. The restaurant has a comfortable feel and reminds me of my family restaurant. They have a simple, yet ample, menu and the prices are competitive with comparable restaurants.

Teresa ordered the eggplant parmesan special pictured above. It was a huge portion and it was really good. The sauce had a nice balance of sweetness with a bit of the tang of a good tomato. The eggplant was perfectly cooked, the ricotta mixture was perfectly seasoned and the cheese plentiful. 

I ordered the Veal Brasciolettini which is a thin veal that has been breaded and rolled up in mozzarella, provolone, salami and spices. Think of an Italian version of Veal Cordon Blue and you've got it. It came with salad (nothing fancy, iceberg lettuce with shredded carrots and green olives) and a side of pasta. The veal was well executed with a hearty flavor, quite delicious.

The service was good and the food delicious. Total bill for two dinners was about forty bucks. Stop by sometime and eat. I think you'll be happy you did.


Tony Boffa's Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

Three Pines IPA
The best way to describe the Gilded Otter is to have you imagine what would happen if you built a brewpub around your brew tanks (clean shiny ones) so that no matter where you are, you can see the tanks. The concept works well here as on one side of the tanks is a large, warm bar and the other two sides are dining are. They have a second floor, more of a loft, looking down on the tanks. While it does have elements of what I call 'early modern brewpub' it is very tastefully done with plenty of wood and windows overlooking the Gunks. Oh, and some nice photographs and artwork as well.

Fried cheese curds
We went with another couple on a Thursday evening and it wasn't as crowded as the weekends. We were brought menus and asked what we wanted to drink. I ordered the beer special of the day, the IPA and my friend Dan got a blueberry beer. The IPA was good with a fresh clean taste, but I would have liked it a bit hoppier. I did have another. The blueberry beer, not my thing, had blueberries floating in it.
Calamari
We decided on two appetizers to share, the calamari and the fried cheese curds. Both were good and both came with two sauces. I was tempted to get the mussels but I'll try them the next time.
Dan had the Jambalaya and I decided on the Brewmaster burger with blue cheese and bacon. My burger was good, but nothing spectacular. The fries however were excellent. Teresa and Kathy both ordered the fish and chips, a large cod loin on a bed of fries. I took a taste and they were crisp on the outside, yet moist and tender on the inside.
Fish and chips
Overall I was fairly impressed with the beer, the food and the service. 

Monday, August 27, 2012

Temptations Everyday Gourmet, Porters Neck, Wilmington, NC


Temptations Everyday Gourmet has two locations. One is on Oleander, near the Mall, and the other is in Porter's Neck. We went to the one in Porter's Neck. Inside it is a cute place with a whole wall of wine to choose from, tables and an exposed kitchen. We were seated and looked over the menus (I already knew what I wanted as we picked up a menu one night passing by).


Rachel ordered the chicken pot pie, shown on top, which was more of a thick chicken soup with a pastry puff on top. It was good, but a bit heavy on the rosemary. Teresa got a chicken salad and a bowl of onion soup. I ordered the Pimento burger with onion soup as my side. 

The Pimento burger I got was really good, one of the best in the Wilmington area. The pimento was plentiful and wonderful. The only thing missing was a strip or two of bacon, and I probably could have added it. I ordered it cooked medium and that's exactly how it came, a perfect medium. The onion soup was delicious. 

We finished it off with a classic creme broulee. The portion was just right for the three of us to share after a filling lunch. 

Overall, good food at reasonable prices (all of this was about $44 including three coffees), excellent service and a warm atmosphere. I'd recommend you try them.

Temptations Everyday Gourmet on Urbanspoon