Saturday, November 28, 2009

New Video Promo

video

I'm working on doing some Video reviews and decided to do a short promo for the blog.

Red Robin, Exton PA


Red Robin is an interesting chain. They create some really cool burger combinations, give you bottom-less fries, have good beers and give a fun atmosphere to enjoy them all. The Exton location is as good as any Red Robin I’ve been to, maybe better since they have Victory Beer. I was at the tail end of a long drive so I passed, but a Hop Devil sure would have gone well with my meal.
I’ve tried most of the burgers, my favorites being the Guacamole Bacon, the Blue Ribbon, and the Royal [with a fried egg on it]. This time I tried the Burnin’ Love burger, [from the website] “crispy-fried jalapeño rings, tangy salsa and spicy Pepper-Jack cheese layered on top of our cayenne-seasoned beef burger. It’s topped with shredded lettuce and tomato to cool things off and served on a jalapeño-cornmeal Kaiser roll with Chipotle mayo,” for $9.79. It was very good with heat in everything on it, but not overwhelming. I have a new favorite.
Service was good, restaurant was clean, including the rest rooms, and the food came hot and cooked right. If you’re passing through Exton on Uwclan Ave, stop and eat. You won’t be disappointed.
Now the rest is about Red Robin Restaurants in general. My experience at Exton was very good.
One thing I recommend, as soon as they bring your meal, order the second round of fries. This way they’ll bring them as you’re finishing the first round (They don’t give you a lot the first time). The second round is bigger, hotter, and taste better. Yeah, I don’t know why either. The other recommendation I make is to check the bill. They are notorious for making a mistake somewhere but they are so accommodating about fixing it. At some locations I’ve gotten the wrong order, been billed wrong, had them forget to bring my wife’s order, you name it. But they always fixed it, gave coupons, freebies, whatever. I don’t mind mistakes as long as they make up for them.

Red Robin America's Gourmet Burgers and Spirits on Urbanspoon

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Sonic, Wappingers Falls NY

I've been to a few Sonic's when I was in the South and found them to be okay. The drinks are good, but the burgers are nothing special. When the chain started to come up here I decided to stop off at the Wappingers Falls location. It had recently opened and there was quite a bit of hype about it.

First off, the place is busy. Very busy. The line for drive-through was about ten cars deep and most of the drive-ups were full. I parked in the lot and ordered at the board by the tables. Two cheeseburgers and a chocolate shake seemed right. Well, after sitting there for about twenty minutes a girl came out and said the trays had gotten mixed up and my order would be out soon. Soon was another five minutes. When I got it the burgers were a bit cold, but I'd already paid, and I didn't have another half-hour to spare waiting to have them redone, so I ate them. Like I said before, the burgers are nothing special, but when cold they really leave a lot to be desired. The shake was good though.

As I finished I was thinking that I should have driven a few miles north and gone to Five Guy's. I was also thinking about how the roller blades were going to work out in the snow. Maybe they'll flood the parking lot and give them ice skates.

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Cup and Saucer Diner, Pine Bush NY


Pine Bush New York is one of the UFO capitals of the world. There have been many sightings over the years, well mostly a few years ago. So when a new diner opened up in Pine Bush they came up with the cheeky name of Cup and Saucer and designed a spaceship logo. It's cute and interesting.

What's even more interesting about the Cup and Saucer Diner is that it is a very good diner. We've been there quite a few times and almost always the food was excellent. The only times it wasn't was when we deviated from traditional diner fare to try something different, like a special. But that's true of most any diner. If you stick to what they make al the time, it should be done right.

This time I had the gyro, I pronounced it yee-row and the waitress said, gyro. I should have written it for her in Greek, γύρος. It was very good with a Greek salad and I upgraded to sweet potato fries. I've also had the Philly cheese-steak sandwich, the rueben, omelets, and the triple decker club. Every time what I got was good.

Stop by and pay them a visit. Check out their website for more info.

Update- 9/30/11. I've been back a few times since I wrote this and the food has always been very good. Most recently I had what I thought was the best Rueben I've ever had.


Cup & Saucers Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Coneheads, Walden NY

I mentioned before that Walden has two ice cream places. One is a traditional custard stand, and the other, Coneheads, is a walk-in place open all year. I decided to stop by today and see what they do in the line of food and I was quite pleasantly surprised.

Located at the Thruway Shopping Center, Coneheads is in a former bank building. It is spacious inside, and very clean. What I found surprising was the prices, very reasonable. I had a cheeseburger deluxe, which came with a large portion of crispy fries and a can of soda for just under six bucks. The burger was simple, but good. Cooked right and not greasy at all.

I looked at the ice cream prices and a large shake was $3.25, with the ice cream cones just as reasonable. They have a nice selection of flavors, both soft-serve and hard, as well as ice cream cakes.

Keep Coneheads in mind when you want some ice cream in the winter, or a nice ice cream stand type burger.


Update- This restaurant is now closed.

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Franco's Pizzeria and Italian Restaurant, Walden NY


The little village of Walden, about 7,000 people, has three Chinese restaurants, one diner, two ice cream places, two bars and five pizza places. The pizza places range from just above mediocre to pretty good. Franco's is one of the pretty good ones and is also more of a restaurant in that they serve more traditional Italian dishes. We've been there a few times to eat, and gotten take out a couple more.

Franco's is located at the Thruway Shopping center in the old laundromat. The conversion came out well and it's a pleasant place inside with tables and booths.

In the latest visit I had the Veal Sorrento, veal cutlet with prosciutto, eggplant and provolone cheese on linguine with a white wine sauce. It came with a good salad and garlic bread and the price was $13.95. Teresa had the manicotti, also with a salad, for $8.95. Reasonable prices and decent sized servings. Mine was good. Not great, but good. I thought it was a bit flat tasting and had to add salt and parmesan cheese. The manicotti was good too, but the sauce was bland, like it came from the can and didn't get enough seasoning.

In the past I've had the veal parm hero, it was okay, and the stromboli, not very good. The pizza is good though, probably one of the best in the village, and they have a $9.00 special on Mondays. Anyone out there remember the old five dollar pizza nights? They offer a few specialty pizzas, and the calzones are good.

Overall, Franco's is good. Not great, but good. Pay them a visit sometime.

Franco's Pizzeria and Italian Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Burgers and Brews Food Reviews is now on Facebook



Burgers and Brews Food Reviews now has a Facebook fan page. Check it out at

On another note, pun intended, I've added a link to Michael's Jazz Quartet on the side. Nothing goes better with a burger and a brew than some good music. Check them out and order some music from them. I'm going to use one of the songs as the theme song for my upcoming video reviews.

Friday, November 13, 2009

McKenzie Brew House, Malvern PA

On Route 30, in Malvern Pennsylvania, sits a nice large, new restaurant called McKenzie Brew House. My son-in-law and I stopped off for lunch, he'd been there the day before, for a quick bite on the way to visit my daughter who was in the hospital in labor (she had a boy two days later, my fourth grandchild).

The restaurant is large, clean, and well laid out. Even though it was crowded for lunch, we were seated right away in the bar area. It really is quite large inside. I ordered the half-pound burger with buffalo sauce and blue cheese crumbles, and Brian got the burger with caramelized onions and blue cheese sauce. $9.25 each. They came out exactly the way we ordered them, medium, on a fresh baked bun with quite a bit of fries. They were also delicious and juicy. The buffalo sauce on mine was just the right heat. It added flavor without overpowering the burger.

I didn't try any beer, we were on the way to the hospital, but Brian said he sampled one the night before and that it was good. Rest assured I'll be back to try a couple. By the way, the beer prices are reasonable at $4.00 for a pint and only eleven dollars for a growler.

The service was good, and the food came out quick. A nice unpretentious place with good food, just what I like. This is going to be one of my favorites and I'll do an update soon, with beer reviews. They aslo have another location in Chadds Ford. Check out their website for more info.

Update 11/13/09- I went back a few days later and ordered the same burger. It was just as good, except that I forgot to order medium. The default is medium-well in most places if that happens. It was still good. I also had a pint of their IPA, Wicked Will's I think it's called. Very good, slightly hoppy, and satisfying. Next time I'm going to try the sampler.


McKenzie Brew House on Urbanspoon

Saturday, November 7, 2009

Yanni's, New Paltz NY


I love Greek food, and my favorite place to get it is at Yanni's at 51 Main Street in New Paltz. I've been there a few times and the food was great each time so when I had a craving for Greek today, off we went. As I write this I am still full, and glad I went.

The restaurant is small, it seats maybe thirty, and is done up in Greek blue and white with paintings and murals all over. The ceiling is a trellises with plastic grapes hanging and there is Greek music playing. There are a few tables and you choose your seat, today it was crowded and we took the only table left.

The hard part is choosing what to order. I recommend what I get, the Hermes platter. This is a small Greek salad, feta and grape leaf included, fries, a pita, tzatziki sauce, and chicken, beef, and lamb gyro meat. All for about eleven bucks. By the way, this is the best tzakziki sauce I've had, even better than my own. Teresa had the spanoikopita, which was good. Nice and light with flaky fillo dough on top. They also offer omelets and other breakfast items, deserts, and Greek beer. You can eat well for twenty bucks.

If you like Greek food, go there. You'll be glad you did.

Update 12/05/09-

I went there today with a friend and we both had the Hermes platters. The food was every bit as good as ever and I had a chance to chat with the owner. Nice people here. He showed me what I want next time, a burger kabob. He made a burger with Greek spices wrapped on a skewer. I'll let you know how it is.

Yanni Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Walden Diner

Years ago this was Sonny's Diner, a nice greasy spoon place. It was remodeled under new owners and renamed The Walden Diner. Since then they've had their moments, both good and mediocre. For a while I stayed away because it was sort of a crap shoot about how your meal was going to come out. We tried it again a month or so ago and they are back on track. Well, for the most part anyway.

The most recent visit I had the French Dip and it was good, with nice crispy fries and a salad. My wife had a club sandwich. She ordered it with the mayo on the side (she doesn't like it drenched in mayo) and they gave her a cup of mayo on the side, as well as slathered it all over the bread. Fifty-fifty this time.

Time before I had a burger. Cooked right and tasty. Before that it was an omelet. Also done right. Both of those times Teresa's order was good too.

The Walden Diner is good most times and the main reason I keep coming back is that it is close. I can walk there in ten minutes, drive in two. The prices are good, and they are friendly. Plus, the food is never really bad, just not great.

Udpate- 06/25/10- Well, I said it can be hit and miss here and today was a miss. I had a nice feta cheese omelet with home fries and Teresa ordered the Greek Salad. Mine was good, hers was bad. It was swimming in salad dressing like BP pumped in in from the well. She ate just a little and told the waitress it wasn't good. The waitress took it and still charged us for it. They should have offered something else, or comped it. I guess we'll be staying away from here for awhile.